My First Pregnancy

WARNING: This post may contain too much information for some individuals. Readers’ discretion is advised 🙂

Assalamualaikum, ladies~!

All praises to Allah SWT, for He has blessed Hubs and I with an adorable little girl, born on the 14th of April 2017.

I would like to take this opportunity (since I have a few minutes a day to spare during this maternity leave I’m enjoying) to share my first pregnancy with you, especially with those who are trying to conceive. I have found online personal accounts from Bruneians on the subject to be lacking, so I hope that this post can be of great help to you. The next post will be about my first few days of motherhood in RIPAS, so stay tuned for that!

DOA DAN USAHA

As with anything you want to achieve in life and the hereafter, your efforts must always be accompanied with never ending du’a. Truthfully, Hubs and I waited a long while until we were financially, emotionally and mentally ready for a child.

Of course, there were bumps along the way, like having doctors (both government and private) ‘diagnose’ you with PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome) as an alibi for your failure to conceive, bombarded by opinions without basis from friends and relatives as to why you are not able to conceive, and being constantly reminded that you are not getting any younger and that you MUST have a baby as soon as possible.

Things like these can slowly tear your spirit apart, but thanks to Hubs who serves as the backbone of my sanity, I manage to smile and let all the negativities slide past, and just focus on doing my best while leaving our fate in the hands of Allah.

My efforts include taking dietary supplements (do ask for more details), going for traditional peranakan massages (though my doctors were against it), eating healthier, and exercising to lose a bit of weight that ’caused’ my SUPPOSED PCOS, not to mention a few weird ‘bedroom’ ethics advised by ‘experienced’ relatives.

I am in no way condoning these as the sure way to conceive, but each to their own and what works for us may not work for you. Nevertheless, teruskan usaha 🙂

HOW WE KNEW WE WERE EXPECTING

As we continued our efforts, much to my relief, my 35-day menstrual cycle regulated, so it was easier to check if I missed my period or not. After casually testing a Home Pregnancy Test (HPT) just 5 days after my expected period was due for August 2016, the test line was visible. It was certainly a shock to us (after spending hundreds of BND on HPTs alone!) and we decided to keep it to ourselves for a month or so before bursting out to our closest family and friends.

HOW MY PREGNANCY WENT

Reading scary articles online about what to expect of your pregnancy can really build anxiety in your head, but surprisingly everything went well for me, Alhamdulillah! I barely had nausea or dizziness commonly associated with pregnancy, which is something I was very grateful of since most of my career involves going to fields and being cooped up in a laboratory for hours on end. This meant that I could go about doing things like the usual, but it also meant that I FREQUENTLY (and I mean it!) forgot I was pregnant much to my colleagues’ dismay (so sorry for that, colleagues!).

I wish I could share with you how I could go about not having nausea during my pregnancy, but what I will share is this…

DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH AND TRUST YOUR BETTER JUDGEMENT

Expect a LOT of advices given to you by experienced matrons when you try to conceive–expect MORE when you are expecting, and EVEN MORE when you have your newborn. 

They may warn you against eating certain types of foods during all three situations, or doing certain things that they believe to be dangerous for your pregnancy. All I can say is please do your own extensive research and not blindly take in their advices just because. Some barely have any scientific basis at all, like not drinking water straight out of the bottle, or your baby will have a crying fit after he/she is born (WUTT…).

Another example is how expecting ladies in our culture are being firmly warned against consuming ginger of any form since it is believed that it can harm their unborn babies, but funnily, ginger is one of the foods that are highly recommended for pregnant women in western cultures as they help against nausea.

So ladies, some experienced mothers out there will certainly give great advices to you, but do think twice when you hear ones that don’t make much sense, since it can otherwise do more harm than good.

 

Well, that is all for now, ladies! Thank you so much for reading this extensive illustration-deprived post of mine, and do look out for new ones!

 

Love,

Lizzy

Leave a Reply

